International Studies & Programs

Home > About > Advisory Council

Advisory Council

The Asian Studies Center Advisory Council is a collective of faculty representatives from Michigan State University, each faculty member on the council is from a certain designation including East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, College of Arts and Letters, College of Social Science, Central, West, and North Asia, and a College other than CAL or CSS. Membership on the council requires faculty involvement in research, teaching, and outreach related to Asia and Asian languages.

2023 - 2024 Advisory Council Members

Eddie Boucher 

Representative Designation: College of Social Science
Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Center for Integrative Studies - Social Science
College: Social Science
Email: bouche50(at)

Frank Ravitch

Representative Designation: Colleges other than CSS/CAL
Title: Professor
Department: Juris Doctorate Programs
College: Law
Email: fravitch(at)

Jon Keune

Representative Designation: South Asia
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Religious Studies
College: Arts and Letters
Email: keunejon(at)

Kaveh Askari

Representative Designation: Central, West, and North Asia
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Dept. of English/Film Studies Program
College: College of Arts and Letters
Email: askarik1(at)

Laura MacDonald

Representative Designation: East Asia
Title: Assistant Professor
College: Residential College Arts & Human Dean
Email: macdo282(at)

Sheila Maxwell

Representative Designation: Southeast Asia
Title: Associate Professor
Department: School of Criminal Justice

College: Social Science
Email: maxwel22(at)

Swarnavel Eswaran Pillai

Representative Designation: College of Arts and Letters
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Department of English/Film Studies
College: Arts and Letters
Email: eswaran(at)

Rochisshil Varma

Representative Designation: Undergraduate Students
Title: Undergraduate Student (Applied Engineering Sciences)
Email: varmaroc(at)

Mehmet Eroglu

Representative Designation: Graduate Students
Title: Graduate Student (Geography, Doctoral)
Email: eroglum1(at)